What if love could save you from the underworld?

Second day in a week and I’m up with the love theme again :P. Maybe I’ll keep this theme till Sunday? I do even have a love-themed tag or two still waiting to be done.

Today I’ve got for you a book and a short story from Jen Minkman, a great author that deserves much more attention than she gets. I’ve already read few stories of hers and I intend to read more.

I received both stories from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Both reviews will be short, after yesterday’s post I thought I’ll give you a break :P.

The Space In BetweenThe Space In Between by Jen Minkman

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

Goodreads description

When Moira helps out her sister and brother in a Wiccan ritual on Halloween, the last thing she expects is to be swept away to a mystical wilderness. Sitting within the stones of the ancient circle of Penmaenmawr, Wales, she’s convinced it’s an illusion. But the dark-haired, handsome man with amnesia that Moira meets during her trance cannot be blinked away like a dream.

Hayko, the mysterious stranger, won’t let go. After returning home from her stone circle adventure, Moira is beckoned back night after night to the outlandish dreamland by an invisible force. But the hardest part isn’t having to fight the terrifying creatures of these nightmares–it’s realizing she’s falling for a guy without a past who isn’t real.

What if you really can fall in love with the man of your dreams?

Since I’ve read this book a while ago and even wrote few words about in on Goodreads, I’m going to use that old review, only I’ll try to make it better (let’s face it it wouldn’t be worth copy-pasting here).

Let’s start with a summary – I loved this book! The story fantastically built from the very beginning! I loved the setting – a bit paranormal with the who dream-desert. I loved the romance, after all, how often can you literally meet a man from your dreams? I loved the religion elements and the bits of Welsh language.

Actually, Jen Minkman has a gift with these, this time, it’s Order of the Peacock (which is actually a real religion that I had no idea existed), last time I read “Shadow of time” and it was about Navajo and their beliefs. The author does a really good job with the research and it shows in her works.

In few moments, the story might’ve been a bit predictable, but it still read very well, so I didn’t mind. There were few unexpected moments throughout the book. And the ending was simply the best :).

If you’re a fan of paranormal romances – read this!

Magic old sepia clock in the sky

The Light at the End by Jen Minkman

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Author’s page

Goodreads blurb

The Light at the End is a special bonus story for people who enjoyed The Space in Between and can’t quite say goodbye to Moira and Hayko yet. If you’re one of those readers who can’t help but wonder what happened after Moira asked Hayko out for coffee, and whether they’d ever start to remember again that they had a history together, this story is for you!
Please note: this is a bonus story provided to fans and newsletter subscribers. IT IS NOT FOR SALE ANYWHERE. In order to download this exclusive content, follow the link to sign up.

Now, for this little story, you have to be aware of one thing – DO NOT read it before “The space in between”. It would pretty much spoil everything. The story shows what happened to Moira and Hayko after the events from the book, but it shows is in a way that gets back to the main story and you’ll get a short recall of the earlier events.

This story still has the magic of the book, but the events felt rushed. I liked it as a companion story, or maybe an epilog to the book, but I’m glad I read the full story.

TV-Kitty-icon2What is your favorite paranormal romance? Do you have something you could recommend me?

2 thoughts on “What if love could save you from the underworld?

What's on your mind?

