Magic and fantastic love triangle

You’re probably thinking “not another love triangle”, but bare with me, you won’t regret it. After reading this let me know your thoughts, I’m curious to know what you think of this kind of triangle :D.

Ash and Echoes (Blessed Epoch #1)
by Augusta Li

My rating:Β star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Since the Goodreads summary is rather long I’m simply going to tell you few words about the story.

Yarrow – a powerful young mage with quite a history and an unfortunate, permanent companion is made to accompany his cousin, the prince, on his journey. He has no idea what fate has in mind for him.
Duncan – a warrior faithful to his king and his training will do anything to protect the prince. He doesn’t need some cursed wizard to help him. Until the moment, Yarrow saves their lives.
And what about the prince? After the party is broken with only the last three members left alive, how will they find a common language. Seemingly three very different people, it there something that will help them join forces and bring their quest to an end?

Oh my, I got a bit inspired πŸ˜› I hope it was fine. Was it fine?
Anyway, let’s continue.

There were many things I like in this book and few that weren’t perfect. Let’s start with some goodies to pick up the mood.

First of all – the characters. Irresistible! I love the trio. Obviously, I like Yarrow most – he is a mage after all :D. Plus, due to his travels and earlier experiences, he’s much more tolerant than the other two. The problem lies in his head… or maybe spirit. I don’t want to spoil it too much, even though you’ll find out about it quite early. I don’t understand why doesn’t he want to explain it to people closest to him, though. I think I would.

As for the soldier – he can be a bit stiff sometimes, but he’s faithful and all good in his heart. He always does the right thing, even if it costs him a lot.

Sasha, aah dear Sasha… Rogues, thieves and assassin’s are yet another weakness of mine. Always when I’m starting a new RPG I have a hard time to choose between mage and rogue as my first class :D. Sasha is very easygoing and yet gets attached a bit too easily. He’s supposed to have no feeling, but it seems his new companions are destroying this barrier.

I was talking about a triangle, right? Let me explain why I liked it. This might be a bit of a spoiler, but it’s hinted in book blurb and you’ll read about it quite early in the book, so I think you’ll be good with this knowledge. You see, in your everyday read, you’ll get (for example) two boys fighting over one girl’s feelings. In the end, one of them gets chosen and the other lives unhappily ever after :P. In this story, they don’t need to choose. They simply decided to stay together. The three of them. I LOVE IT! Plus there are some hot sex scenes on the way, soo… I probably should warn you about these – don’t read it in public ;).

And among all these things the author never forgets about the plot. The characters keep following their path, making choices that will change their lives forever. Everything that happens in the book was well thought through. I admit I wished few things to be solved a bit differently, but the author kept my attention and kept me thinking too. Well done! And if you think the romance is rather a side motive – it’s not. The more the characters bond, the harder some decisions they had to take become. And not only their lives depend on it.

Now let’s see some of the not-so-good parts. I did mention the love, right? As much as I like it I think there was still a bit too fast. Well, maybe Sasha’s feeling went a the right speed since at first he only wanted a companion to sleep with, but for a person who says he can’t love, he surely developed his new feeling rather fast.

Characters could also use a bit of a development, but since this is the first book, I do hope to find out more about the trio later in the series. Because I do intend to read the rest of it.

In short – I had a good time reading this book. I would recommend it to everyone interested in fantasy with good plot and strongly present male romance.

TV-Kitty-icon2So, what do you think? Do you think you’ll check this books out? I certainly know I’m going to continue with the series, I’d love to know what next adventures await our heroes.

6 thoughts on “Magic and fantastic love triangle

What's on your mind?

