Hitman on the run

Dead Man's PartyDead Man’s Party by Jeff Marsick, Barnett Scott

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon US

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads blurb:

For the world’s most feared executioner — known only as Ghost — arranging such a Party for himself is a last resort… a way to go out on his own terms and at the top of his game. The invitations are sent, the butchers are coming… And that’s precisely when Ghost uncovers a truth that changes everything.

Here I was, reading the next graphic novels after three I didn’t like, thinking “it’s a story about a hitman, why did I even picked it up?”. Boy, was I wrong! I loved it! Well, maybe not loved, but it was really good.

This story is filled with fantastic action scenes, pretty good plot and I already wish I had next volume to read because it ended like there should be a second one.

At first, I wasn’t too keen on the graphic they used here. It’s not your usual comic style, each panel is more of a painting, the more pages I went to, the more I appreciated it. It has just enough details to show the important people and action without distracting you with needless background details. In short – I liked it.

The action of the story moves from place to place, but it doesn’t let you get lost. It’s really well done. And for a story about killing, there’s surprisingly little violence. Obviously, people die here, and you will see some blood, but just enough to see what happened instead of covering your screen/page in red.

And within all this action there’s a plot that actually holds. It’s smart, it has a proper culmination point and a good, open ending to make you want to read more. Yes, I could recommend it to everyone who likes some good action read.

What's on your mind?

