Top 5 Wednesday – Best Suggested Books You Loved

imgresWhen I saw today’s topic I thought “well that’s not going to work, I don’t even have that many suggestions”. But then it came to me that recommendations might come in many forms. Sometimes it’s just “you should check this book out”, sometimes it’s a gift you’ve just received, sometimes a good friend will simply push a book into your hands and say “read it!”. Looking at it this way I’ve gathered quite a list of books I really liked and it was really hard to pick just five. I’ve decided to skip the obvious:

I’ve decided to skip the obvious: Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Witcher, the Discworld series and everything by Neil Gaiman. You already know I love these 😀 I could squeeze them to most of my lists, but this time, I’ll use different titles. I’ve rated all of the books bellow as 5-star reads or as my “favorite” on Goodreads.

5


PodatekPodatek [Tax] by Milena Wójtowicz

Let me start with a Polish accent. A fantasy book I received on some occasion (it was so long ago that I don’t remember already). It’s about a magical tax collectors because even magic users need to pay tax for their deeds :). “After the experience with the Magic Revenue some ghosts say that death is not the worst …” I liked this book so much that I got other reads by the same author and I wasn’t disappointed.

4


NarutoNaruto by Masashi Kishimoto

I had many manga recommendations, but this one is one of my favorite. Of course I’ve started with anime, so I’ve read manga many years later, but the story doesn’t follow exactly the same path, so it’s fun to read and to watch it. Most of the time I’ve read it online since the availability of mangas in Poland is horrible. I’m buying few tomes of Naruto once in a while, they are far from publishing the latest ones.

3


OwlflightOwlflight by Mercedes Lackey

From the Valdemar books I’ve read this trilogy is my favorite. I still have many books to read, so it might change, but I find characters from this book most interesting. The setting of these books is fantastic, I loved that place. And the bond with birds is a unique idea that works perfectly here.

2


Dead Until DarkDead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

This one was recommended to me by my friend. We’ve watched a season or two of True Blood already and she’d started reading the books. At some point, she said I should try them out. And I had. And I’m not regretting it, even though the 11th books wasn’t so good, but I’m so close to the end of the series that I will finish it.

1


The Mists of AvalonThe Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

It’s been a long time since I’ve read this one, but it was one of the best fantasy books I’ve read. Everything you’d like to have in a book based on an Arthurian legend is here. Magic, power, deception and a great set of characters. Amazing! If you haven’t read it yet – do it!

TV-Kitty-icon2

Did you have some good recommendations in you reading history? Link up your lists.

Maybe you have some interesting recommendations for me 🙂

What's on your mind?

