We’re all mad here

This is quite a retelling. It all starts with Alice and then it goes on through Neverland and Grimm kingdoms. You will find many characters and lands you thought you knew, many versions of the stories that might’ve happened.

Alice Takes Back WonderlandAlice Takes Back Wonderland by David D. Hammons

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon US

I received this copy from Curiosity Quills in exchange for an honest review.

Somehow I can’t get myself to write a reasonable summary for you, instead here’s a part of a blurb from Goodreads instead:

After ten years of being told she can’t tell the difference between real life and a fairy tale, Alice finally stops believing in Wonderland. So when the White Rabbit shows up at her house, Alice thinks she’s going crazy.

Only when the White Rabbit kicks her down the rabbit hole does Alice realize that the magical land she visited as a child is real.

But all is not well in Wonderland.

There are some things I really like about this book. For example all of the descriptions of places, characters, surrounding. It all felt right and lively. I did enjoy reading about all the places Alice had visited, I did like the various versions of the well-known fairy tales, because who would think to change Pinocchio into a child version of Iron Man who only wants to get rid of his suit of armor and look like a real boy. These parts were awesome and I kind of wish the author wrote separate stories, some new retellings for all of the tales he only just touched in this book.

On the negative side, I found the beginning to be rather boring. I had a hard time getting through the first chapters and I even stopped reading for a while. The way Alice’s parents were treating her was rather scary. All the psychiatrist (including the school doctor with a fantastic surname Friend), the drugs, the way they wanted her to behave. If every child with imagination was treated that way our world would be as boring as Wonderland after the wonder was taken out of it. After a life like this Alice had simply no choice but to save Wonderland even though she could simply go back home and forget about everything.

The slowly growing feelings between Peter and Alice were a really nice touch. No instant love here, only two people joined by an adventure whose feelings evolved with time.

To sum it up, I had a good time reading this book, maybe it wasn’t fantastic, but it did have plenty of magic, interesting characters, and some nice action scenes.

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read any good fairy tale retellings lately? It seems I can’t find anything that I’d love. They all have good elements, but an overall impression is they are all missing something magical.

5 thoughts on “We’re all mad here

  1. lry93

    This is great review 🙂 I look forward to reading it myself 🙂 I definitely second Splintered 🙂 I would also recommend Spelled by Betsy Schow – the book is a great retelling of Dorothy’s story from the Wizard of Oz and it just just hilarious!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

