Top 5 Wednesday – Disappointing Eye Candy

imgresToday’s theme is Disappointing Eye Candy, books that looked beautiful, but were awful.

There are unfortunately plenty of books like this everywhere. I am guilty of buying some books for their covers :). Sometimes they are just irresistible. Sometimes there’s a nice sentence or two in the description that makes the temptation even worse. Add to that a few nice words from other readers and te book end up on your shelf. And then, one day, when enough time had passed, your treacherous hand reaches for the book, takes it, and you start reading it… and then the magic disappears and you wish you just left the book on the shelf, so it could look pretty and tempt you further.

Since apparently I’m getting worse and worse with making the top 5 an actual list with five books only, I’ll keep up with my bad behavior and hope you will forgive me ;). Here are five sets of books that disappointed me

5

Neo ArcadiaThe pretty manga. I like manga and I can read stories from various genres with various drawing style. As long as the story is nicely written, well drawn and makes sense there’s a big chance I won’t be very disappointed. But most of my reading is done through the internet since we don’t have that many mangas available in Poland. Plus reading it in Polish is kind of weird ;). Here are the two titles that I did buy a paper edition and I wasn’t really too happy about it after reading.
Rappa

Neo Arkadia is supposed to be about cooperation between two kingdoms and ended up to be an insta-love story between the king of darkness and prince of light. Nicely drawn, but still a disappointment

And Rappa is an action based manga about a mysterious character chased by many who want to get the reward for his head. Everything was fine, the action was good, the story was rather engaging until the weird stuff happened. All of a sudden in a western-like story you’ve got some strange monsters, dinosaurs and other weird stuff exploding into the story. I was so lost when it happened.

4

Disappointing ongoing series. Did you ever had that need to continue some series, because all previous books were good and the covers are still pretty and the descriptions are still interesting and then you read the book… I got stuck on Sookie Stackhouse novels on book 11. Only two books to go, but the Dead reckoning was rather boring and I can’t get myself to read the last two books.

3

 Dream Student Tales from the Graveyard Kaminishi Nirvana

The pretty cover did it. All these books that had these nice covers that tempted me to read them… I knew the stories weren’t very good, but I had to know by myself. Now I know.

For three of these books, I’ve already published reviews on this blog. As for the last one, the “Dream Student”, the story was rather good, but the writing wasn’t very engaging and I barely finished.

2

The Dream Engine Shattered BlueThe lovely covers and not so bad reviews. I choose two books here that tempted me with their nice reviews even though they weren’t read by too many people. But when a book has a 3.8 rating on GR it has a chance to be interesting. Well, these two weren’t and I wonder why people loved them.

Search my blogs for reviews of both of these books.

1

 Beautiful Creatures Cruel Beauty The Sisters Brothers

The loved by many, but why? Great covers – checked. Interesting descriptions – checked. Good ratings and opinions – checked. So why I didn’t like them? Is there something wrong with me or are the other people wrong?

The Cruel beauty review is in preparation (meaning I might get it ready within a month or so) so I will tell you what I found wrong with it there, although it’s not too bad, I just think it doesn’t deserve they hype. And most of all – it’s not simply a Beauty and the Beast retelling like everyone says, it’s more like a Rumpelstiltskin retelling.

The Sisters Brothers was a rather weak story about two guys that went there and back again… Way more boring than Hobbit, but so many people liked it. I didn’t hate it, I just didn’t like it much.

As for Beautiful Creatures – it was the worst books I’ve read since 2013. Check my review on this blog or tell me why I should think different ;).

TV-Kitty-icon2

Have you read any self-published or little-known books you’d like others to read?

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday – Disappointing Eye Candy

What's on your mind?

