BBC Thursday – 14th of January

BBC_Radio_logo

Welcome to my new series! 

First of all, let me tell what will it be about. I seem to be a person whose rather addicted to books, but I do know I’ll never be able to read all the books I want, so I instead I’m listening to BBC versions of abridged and dramatized novels. They have quite a choice, from good old classics, through some nice SF and Fantasy dramas to some of the new releases. I know this way I won’t really be able to know the book thoroughly or recognize authors writing style, but BBC, at least, gives me a chance to get to know some of the books that won’t get into my reading list.

There’s also the other side – I can also listen to these dramatizations after reading a book. If I liked the story this is an occasion to listen to it again.

Since this is the first BBC post this year and since I haven’t done that in a while I’ve got several positions for you today. In future episodes, there will one or two dramas and I suppose I won’t be doing this every single week, BBC Thursday will be a bi-weekly post.

What will you see here? 

  1. Title of the book the dramatization was based on
  2. Author of the book and any other interesting person that will be mentioned in BBC’s description
  3. The description itself :), I might shorten it if BBC will put too much text or use description from Goodreads instead
  4. Link to the dramatization and to Goodreads if I’ll find it
  5. Number of days you’ll have to listen to it
  6. Time of each episode and number of episodes
  7. My rating if I’ve already listened to it and maybe a short comment about it.

Today’s list of dramas

1. When the World Screamed by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Professor Challenger drills into the earth until he reaches the mantle, convinced that it is a sentient being and that by doing so he will be the first person to alert it to mankind’s presence. He awakens the giant creature, which then proceeds to destroy his machine.

BBC link | Goodreads

Day left: 2
Duration: 30 min | 1 episode
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I do admire Sir Arthur Conan Doyle for his imagination and all the stories he created. Obviously, Sherlock books are my favorite, but professor Challenger’s adventures are pretty interesting too. This and the next dramatization are based on short stories from Challenger’s series. When the World Screamed is a fine story, but It felt like it ended too soon.

 

2. The Disintegration Machine by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Professor Challenger is arguing with people who are persistently calling him on the telephone when his young friend Malone, a reporter for the Gazette, enters and requests Challenger accompany him to inspect the discovery of Theodore Nemor, who claims to have invented a machine capable of disintegrating objects. Skeptical of the invention, Challenger accepts Malone’s proposal and accompanies him to the house of Nemor.

BBC link | Goodreads

Day left: 3
Duration: 30 min | 1 episode
Rating: ★★★★☆

This story was a bit better than the first. It was even a bit creepy and that made it quite interesting, especially if you’ve already met the characters and like them.

 

3. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, dramatized by Lucy Catherine

A new production of Mary Shelley’s heart-breaking modern myth of obsession, pride and the need for love.

While sailing through the Arctic wastes, Captain Walton picks up an unexpected passenger. Close to death the man begins to tell Walton his strange and terrible story.

BBC episode 1 | BBC episode 2 | Goodreads

Day left: 4 for the first part and 12 for the second
Duration: 60 min | 2 episodes

I’ve only started listening to this one. It’s good for now.

 

4. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie, dramatized by Michael Bakewell

When Belgian sleuth, Hercule Poirot retires to the country to grow vegetable marrows, he soon discovers that someone has planted the seeds of treachery…. and of murder.

Agatha Christie’s whodunit stars John Moffatt as Hercule Poirot.

BBC link | Goodreads

Day left: 18
Duration: 90 min | 1 episode

Haven’t listened to this one yet, but I’ve already been through few of the Poirot BBC stories, so my guess is it will be good enough. Not a full book in any means, but it gives you the right feel of the story.

 

5. The Devil’s Foot by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

As the great Baker Street detective takes a break with Doctor Watson to recuperate in deepest Cornwall, death strikes a local family.

BBC episode 1 | BBC episode 2 | Goodreads

Day left: 23
Duration: 30 min | 2 episodes
Rating: ★★★☆☆

And here’s yet another of Doyle’s stories. This time, our dear Sherlock Holmes has to deal with a new murder. And you’d think he deserves actual vacations.

I’ve listened to this one two years ago and I gave it 3 stars. It has to mean that it was OK, but not the best Sherlock story they’ve made.

That’s all for today :). Enjoy.
And let me know how you liked these dramas.

3 thoughts on “BBC Thursday – 14th of January

  1. Pingback: BBC Thursday – 21st of January – Magic of books

What's on your mind?

