Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite Retellings

imgresThis week I could give you a hundred of retellings I want to read, but somehow I only read a few. I guess I’ll have to make it my goal for the next year 😀 especially since I’ve already bought some of these books.

Here are my Top 5 choices for this week’s theme:

5

Grimm diaries prequelsGrimm Diaries Prequels #1-6 by Cameron Jace – yes, I know there are more of these and that there’s an actual book after (It’s on my TRB list and I already have it so…), but I really enjoyed these prequels. The author manages to give these stories some twist, some fresh look and I enjoyed reading them. I can’t say I liked all the stories, but I still enjoyed the set.

4

EnchantedEnchanted by Alethea Konti – Oh I know I already mentioned this book last week, but I liked it 😀 I can’t help it, you know, so here it is again. It’s also another series that I want to continue reading. Enchanted is a retelling of a princess and a frog tale, where Sunday meets her frog, kisses him and then the story actually starts – with her falling hopelessly for him and with both of them finding out about their past.

3

Alice in the country of heartsAlice in the Country of Hearts by QuinRose, Soumei Hoshino – Ha! I managed to squeeze a manga here :D. It’s a fun version of Alice in Wonderland with all the characters looking more or less human and all of them falling for Alice. OK, so the attraction os kind of strange, but it’s still fun to read and the drawings are lovely. And for those of you who are lazy – there’s also anime 😀

2

Gears of WonderlandGears of Wonderland by Jason G. Anderson – Oh look, another version of the story involving Wonderland. Only, this time, the main hero is James Wonderland has changed a lot since Alices visit, now it’s a steampunk world full of dangers. For the first few pages I thought I will just DNF this book, but then James fell into Wonderland and all the good things started happening. It’s not a well-known book and I think it deserves more attention.

1

CinderCinder by Marissa Meyer – do I really have to explain why this book is here and why it’s on the first place? It’s simply awesome 😀 I loved everything about it and I have all the other stories waiting to be read. Yes, I know I should already be done with them, but there are always so many books… Anyway, Cinder is a great story with interesting characters and if you haven’t read it yet – go for it!

Hmm, I managed to catch quite a variety of books here: short story set, an audio book, manga, an indie author book and a well known loved by all story :D. I feel good about it. And as a bonus round, here are the retelling I really want to read (I’m not including the series continuations of the books above):

Scarlet Bitter Greens The Sleeper and the Spindle The Princess Curse The Crown Alice in Zombieland The Looking Glass Wars A Tale Dark & Grimm The Golden Braid Princess of the Midnight Ball Uprooted Book of a Thousand Days Splintered The Healer's Apprentice The Fairest Beauty Sisters Red A Court of Thorns and Roses

OK… there are many… and I have even more on my list… Ah well 😀

Have you noticed how many Alice in Wonderland retelling are out there?

TV-Kitty-icon2

How about your five choices?

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite Retellings

    1. The truth is – I liked the original story, but I can’t say I loved it. I do prefer other stories, especially some of the original Grimm Fairy Tales, but there are so many interesting retelling of Alice that I simply can’t resist 😀
      I have yet another book waiting on my reading list – Alice takes back Wonderland. I hope it will be fun 😀

      Like

  1. Hmm, I’d really have to think about what my five choices would be! I read Bitter Greens not too long ago and really enjoyed it, and Cinder is definitely awesome. 😀 I’m intrigued by a couple of those Alice in Wonderland ones you listed; I haven’t managed to find an Alice retelling I really like yet, so I might have to check those out!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

