My Life in Books Tag!

my life in booksBig thanks to Shelbie for tagging me! Check out her blog: Lu-Lu’s Rants & Reads.

And equally big thanks to T.K. Lawrence! And here’s the blog you should also check: Read it or not reviews.

I will use it as an occasion to show you some of my Polish reads. I will link each of them to Goodreads (and add an English title or my translation of it) so you could find your language version if you’ll want to and I hope you will, because these are all good books.

1: Find a book for each of your initials.

It seems there aren’t that many books starting with “Ż”, so I’ll go with “Z” instead.

M: Miecz przeznaczenia [Sword of destiny] (The Witcher #2) – by Andrzej Sapkowski

One of the best fantasy series and also one of few Polish reads that are known worldwide. A really worthy read, perfect adventure with a mix of politics and it’s all about a destiny.

R: Rzeźnik drzew [The tree slaughterer] by Andrzej Pilipiuk

A set of stories set with lots of humor, fantasy, various monsters, and their hunters.

Ż: Załatwiaczka [that’s a tough one to translate as it’s not really a word from a dictionary, basically what it means is it’s a person who settles or arranges things, deals, etc.] by Milena Wójtowicz

It’s all about a girl who starts her College in England. She finds herself a house and it seems it goes with a job… a very unique job. She’ll meet interesting people, fairies, vampires and other creatures and it’s all about a time travel. A very fun read.

miecz przeznaczenia rzeźnik drzew załatwiaczka

2: Count your age along your bookshelf- which book is it?

234184

Stone of Tears (Sword of Truth #2) by Terry Goodkind

I remember what my beginnings were with this series. It was yet another shopping day and as usual instead of going straight through my list I turned to the bookshelves. Obviously there was a promotion and I found the 5th book from the series. I thought “why not, the description sounds interesting”. After reading this one, I got myself the other books and made my friends read them too ;). I like this series, I know it’s not perfect, but I like it. Plus it’s kind of sentimental.

3: Pick a book set in your city/state/country.

2737076

I live in a small town and I’m yet to find a book that is set here ;). And when it goes to Polish books I mostly read fantasy since we have such good writers in this genre here. But yes, I found one book that’s set in Warsaw (about 25 km from where I live), so I’ll go with this one:

Nocarz [that’s also untranslatable… it’s a merge between night and strong man… Nightman? yeah, that might do it] by Magdalena Kozak

4: Pick a book that represents a destination you would love to travel to.

2962022

Around the World in Eighty Days (Extraordinary Voyages #11) by Jules Verne

Yes, I know there are many fantasy worlds and places that I would also want to visit, but to be honest, the first thing I want to do is to visit some of the places and countries in our world.

What surprises me after reading quite many My life in books posts is that you all choose one country, I don’t feel like limiting myself to just one. I want to see them all 🙂

5: Pick a book that’s your favorite color.

8525139

That would be a mix of red and blue since these are my two favorite colors since… forever? I could never decide which one I like more. But since It’s really hard to find a cover with them both…

Wiedźma opiekunka, Część 2 [Supreme Witch, Part 2] (Wolha Redna #4) by Olga Gromyko

6: Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

Little WitchLittle witch by Otfried Preußler

A book from my childhood, only then I had a tape with some of the stories recorded. Only when I bought an actual book long years after I found out some stories were cut off the recording to fit in on one tape.

7: Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

17245Dracula by Bram Stoker

Yes, I liked this book, but authors style bothered me and I had to switch to an audiobook to finish it. Don’t get me wrong, I like the story, only the way it was written gave me a hard time. Same thing goes to the “Time machine”.

8: Which book in your TBR pile will you give the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

10664113A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5) by George R.R. Martin.

Mostly because I’ve only finished part 1 of the series, so I have 4 books to read, not one. Plus any other books that come out of this series.

I tag:

Well, everyone who wants to do it 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Life in Books Tag!

    1. I’m doing what I can 😉 I have a map in my room with pins marking the places I’ve been to. For now it’ś only a map of Europe, but I do intend to add a world map here too

      Like

What's on your mind?

