Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite Audiobooks

imgresAaaah the audiobooks… I mostly listen to these during winter, when it’s too cold and too dark to read normal books or ebooks. There aren’t that many novels I’ve “read” this way, but there are few worth mentioning. There’s also a whole series of Discworld audiobooks I’ve got that I’ve listened to a long time after reading the paper books, but I’m going to skip these.

Here are my Top 5 choices for this week’s theme:

5

CoralineCoraline by Neil Gaiman – if you haven’t read this one yet – you really should. It’s great novel about a little girl and all the creepy things that are happening around her in her new home. If you read anything by Gaiman you know he’s quite a storyteller, so go take this book and read it.

4

SolarisSolaris by StanisΕ‚aw Lem – great Polish science fiction novel loved by most, left unfinished by others (I really have no idea why). It’s not your typical SF story with aliens, space battles, etc. Instead, you have an alien planet and a strange ocean that can apparently manipulate people’s minds.

3

The FamilyThe family by Mario Puzo – a historical book about Borgia family. I picked it up because of… Assassin’s Creed game :D. It’s a greatly written story concentrating on Rodrigo Borgia. I rarely pick up pure historical novels, but somehow they never disappoint me. Maybe I should read them more often.

2

EnchantedEnchanted by Alethea Kontis – a lovely fairy tale retelling with an enchanting heroine. I keep thinking about reading next book in this series, but there’s always something else to read… I will need to fix this next year.

1

The Martian ChroniclesMartian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury – fantastic set of science fiction stories with a philosophical feel to them. The audiobook I had was read by the author himself and I think that’s awesome :).

TV-Kitty-icon2

Do you like audiobooks? Have you read / listened to any of the books I’ve mentioned? What are your five choices? 

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite Audiobooks

  1. I wanted to start with Top 5 Wednesday this month but when I saw what’s the first week about I changed my mind. I mean… I had to skip it because I don’t listen to audiobooks. The only one I started was The Martian and I didn’t get far. I guess I’m just not a person for listening. I always start thinking about other things and can’t concentrate to book. So, audiobooks are just not for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand that. I rarely listen to unabridged books, because my memory is mostly based on images, so the reading text is more likely to stay in my head instead of just flow through it like the things I listen to, but I do like an occasional audiobook to fill in my working time or during a walk from the station to my home.

      As for joining the top 5 Wednesday – go for it πŸ˜€ I think it’s a fun way to remember what books you might’ve read that fell for current topic and to recommend them to others.

      Like

  2. Glad to see there are other people enjoying audiobooks this winter! I’ve only read Coraline but I can imagine it would be a good one to listen to as well… does Gaiman narrate it himself? He did with another one of his I listened to.

    l think my all time favourite audiobook is still The Lies of Locke Lamora (brilliant voice artist + great book) but I most recently listened to Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy read by Stephen Fry, and that was a lot of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. From the books I’ve mentioned here, only the Martian Chronicles were read by the author. I would love to listen to this Hitchhiker’s version. I couldn’t really get through the written book, but I have a feeling an audiobook would be just the thing for me in this case.

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

