Color me clear

Shattered Blue is an interesting read with some pretty good ideas, but at the end I wasn’t satisfied after reading it.

Shattered BlueShattered Blue (The Light Trilogy #1) by Lauren Bird Horowitz

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

You can find this book on Goodreads and Amazon.

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This is a story of forbidden love, lost family and magic. A story where beings from two worlds meet – fey boy Callum and a human girl – Noa. The problem is since Callum was banished from the fey world, he needs Light to do his magic. And where can he find it? In humans obviously. And Noa, depressed after losing her older sister, seems to fall for Callum at first sight and is ready to give him her light no matter the cost.

An Apple for Fey by AmandaTurnage
An Apple for Fey by AmandaTurnage

After a while, things get a bit complicated when Callum’s brother show up and it seems he’s not the only visitor from the fey world…

I struggled a lot throughout the whole book. It has its moments, but I think I was expecting something more. I was actually kind of bored sometimes. What really bothered me was the relationship between Noa and Callum.

Yes, I think I have enough of those instant love stories. I think even Noah’s and Judah’s relationship was more natural than what she had with Callum. Let’s face it – I simply didn’t like Callum that much. He was just a casual, boring boy, with nothing really special, plus he tried to play martyr and that also gets tiresome rather quickly. Judah was a curious one. A bad-boy with depths in his character that made him interesting, realistic and alive. He and Noa had some nice chemistry between each other. I’d rather see these two together.

And what’s with that ending??? I mean, seriously – decide what really happened instead of changing it five times! OK, I won’t be able to deal with this without some spoiler, so I’m warning you it’s a spoiler zone ahead!

SPOILER HERE

First you tell people that everything started with a little girl ending up dead and one brother taking a hit for the other. When you get to the last 10% or so of the book you suddenly find out that it wasn’t really Judah’s fault, that is was some other fey he fell for. But that’s just one version for that moment. Few pages later you find out there at least two other versions of events and the final one is that the little sister that was supposed to be dead is actually alive and everyone thinks she’s Noa’s sister now and that Callum plotted all this to hide his sister because she has all the fey gifts and he thought his father would kill the little girl. W.T.F???

SPOILER OVER

CdH - When We Still Had Our Names by Eldarianne
CdH – When We Still Had Our Names by Eldarianne

This book has some good sides obviously. Since Noa is a poet, the author made an effort to include some poems here and there. I might not be much of a poetry expert, but I liked most of them. They were interesting and very well fitted into the situation.

Also, the idea of color fey was interesting. Although the colors themselves didn’t really fit the skills in my opinion, but it was a curious way to differentiate them. I’m actually curious about the fey world. Whatever little information there was about it in this book I wish I could know more, maybe move at least part of the action to that world instead of ours, but I guess that’s going to happen in the next book..

To sum it up it was a fine read, but I read better books and I don’t think I’ll be reading the other two books in the series.

TV-Kitty-icon2Did you like this book? What were your thoughts after reading it?

6 thoughts on “Color me clear

        1. yea sometimes I can’t understand how people might like a book I read or tried to read, but there are also those books that people seem to hate and I enjoyed, so I guess it’s all balanced 😛

          Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

