The Ultimate Book Tag

the-ultimate-book-tagI was tagged by Daniela from Books to get lost in. Thank you! I really appreciate this.

Go on, check her blog. Or you can do it after you read this.

Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Unfortunately yes, and in buses too. One of the reasons I prefer trains, trams and even planes and boats, I can read as much as I want in these.

Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Elżbieta Cherezińska – She wrote those great historical novels about Poland’s troubled times. If I had books like these at school I might’ve had some better grades ;). Yes, this are books about history, but she makes this history alive and she adds those little fantastical twists. You’d have to read it to understand, I can’t explain it well.

Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter, Twilight isn’t even a competition here ;). And the reasons:

  1. It has great characters that grow throughout the series, and I’m not only talking about their age.
  2. Those books are well written and yet have easy to understand language, so even if you’re not a native English speaker you can go on and read them. I do like Rowling’s writing style.
  3. Magic, dragons, flying cars, Snape, friendship and some humor.

Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

No, just a regular bag with a book inside or a phone with a kindle app at least.

Do you smell your books?

And why would I do that ;). Yes, I admit to that. Not often, but it does happen. When I’m alone and nobody sees me :P.

Books with or without little illustrations.

I like illustrations in books. I like even the whole page images. But I don’t need them, they’re just a nice adding.

What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Red-Headed Stepchild (Sabina Kane #1) by Jaye Wells – It’s a fine read with lots of humor, but let’s face it – it’s not a masterpiece when it goes to authors language skills.

Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I can’t recall any :/. Maybe one of my friends could tell you one, but I can’t think of any right now.

What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Goldilocks and the Three Bears by Vera Southgate. Yes, it’s a children book, but it has a sentimental value.

What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The Complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Jacob Grimm, Wilhelm Grimm – 1039 pages in A4 format.

Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

No. I’d be a horrible writer.

When did you get into reading?

At school, when I borrowed some of the fantasy books from a friend. I think it was one of the Pratchett’s books that got me started.

What is your favorite classic book?

The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov

In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Neither (and what’s language arts?) I was alway more of a Math person.

If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

Thank the person who gave it to me and probably gift it to someone else later… to someone I don’t like that much 😛

What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Hmm.. I’ll go with two because I’m pretty sure one was not translated to English.

Strażnicy Nirgali [Nirgalas guardians] by Agnieszka Wojdowicz – Young adult novels about angels and kids with special abilities. Really enjoyable reads.

The Broken Ones by Jen Wylie – I honestly don’t know why this series and this author has so little readers. Her books are great! Check them out.

What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

Blogging at work :P. Yes, I do that when I have no tasks. I know I shouldn’t, but I just can’t resist.

What is your favorite word?

Whatever… I know lots of people don’t like it. I don’t really care.

Are you a nerd, dork, or a dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’d like to consider myself more of a geek than a nerd 😉

Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Vampires! They’re much more fun :P. Yes, they can kill you in an instant, but at least you might become one. You can’t be changed into a fairy.

Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Angels. They’re so pretty and can be so deadly. Shapeshifters might be fun if they change into dragons.

Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Spirits. Mostly because I’m not that into werewolves. Plus spirits can haunt and walk through walls :).

Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Vampires. Way better than zombies in any case but most of all – they don’t decompose!

Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

It doesn’t matter as long as it’s well written and thought through I’m good with both.

And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

The latter one. I don’t like pure romance books, I prefer some interesting action or mystery. Though a romance subplot is a nice addition.

Oh, I know this is the moment when I should tag someone. The truth is it’s so hard to choose, so I’m tagging everyone who wants to do this!

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

What's on your mind?

