Hack that church!

The Tithe, Vol. 1 by Matt Hawkins, Rahsan Ekedal

Tithe issue 1 Tithe issue 2 Tithe issue 3 Tithe issue 4

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

You can find this book on Goodreads and Amazon.

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Why did I put 4 covers you might ask? Because this volume has 4 issues each with covers as you can see above and together they make pretty rainbow-like pattern :D. So yes, my only reason was – because they look pretty together. Live with it πŸ˜›

Now for the story…

It is kind of a modern Robin Hood story. We’ve got a group of activists called Samaritans who discovered some nasty money business going on in some way-too-rich churches and they want to put an end to this. They even sent some proof to FBI, so the “good guys” could handle it, but since the bureau wasn’t working efficiently enough Sam and her team decided to get the millions from those churches and give them to charity.

At the beginning everything works fine. Plans are well thought through and everything works out, but this can’t last forever.

Samantha is an interesting person and I admit I’d like to know a bit more about her past. In this story we just find out she’s a great hacker and that she wants to bring down those corrupted churches, but there’s no more back story for her and I’m curious how she came to be a part of this group, why she’s doing what she’s doing, etc.

Tithe charactersThe rest of the group, although not accidental, seems rather random. One of the guys – Kyle is clearly hitting on Sam and it seems these two have a past together. Kyle’s brother, Mike together with Rachel – Mike’s girlfriend, are more interested in each other and in drugs than in what Sam tries to achieve.

On the other hand we’ve got the FBI agents. Two partners who seem to be complete opposites in some cases, like religion, and yet they seem to work well together. One is calm, religious and has a family that he loves. The other is single, easy going, impulsive and a non believer.

Since everything revolves around churches and Christians authors also made this part of characters’ personality important.

Since it’s a graphic novel I should probably write few words about the graphic itself? Well, I’m not really good at this. I liked it, but I’d say it wasn’t perfect. In a few panels I had a feeling like characters’ eyes were looking in the wrong direction, profiles weren’t very proportional, etc. But generally I liked it. Plus I rarely read graphic novels, I’m more into manga, so the colors were a nice change ;).

As the story goes, I liked the heists. There were nicely planned and well shown, so I enjoyed these parts. The main plot was fine, but nothing special. The ending kind of surprised me, but I can’t seem to find the right words to tell you why without giving it up.

Would I recommend it to you? Maybe if you really like heist stories with a Robin Hood like thieves then yes. But if you’re not into that, there are probably more interesting novels out there.

TV-Kitty-icon2 Have you read Tithe? Did you even knew it existed? What do you think about it?

4 thoughts on “Hack that church!

  1. Hi πŸ™‚ I’m glad you liked it!

    I don’t know if I should be the one to give some advice here, I’ve been blogging for about 4 months now, but I did wrote a post with some tips: https://maginibooks.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/8-tips-on-how-to-make-your-blog-better/

    But since you’ve asked, I’m going to put some thoughts here anyway πŸ˜‰
    First of all – I like the theme you’re using, very peaceful and relaxing, so pretty good start here ;). On the Home page you’ve got just short messages, maybe try using some longer post excerpts instead? I know I sometimes put way too much text on my home page, sometimes I even forget to put this little “Read more” line and the whole post is visible there, so I’m not an ideal here, but that was just a though.
    Also check out your footer – it’s mighty long even when you browse it on full computer screen. Maybe the theme you’re using will allow to split the footer widgets to few columns?
    It’a good that you’ve added all the sharing buttons to the posts, they do work sometimes and tempt some people to use them and thanks to that – share what you wrote. Check if you’ve got all of them personalized, link your Twitter login, FB, etc so when people share your posts you’d get the actual credit for them.
    And please work on the “About page”. I know it’s not easy, it took me about 3 months to create mine, before whatever you might see now I had only my Goodreads profile text there and I don’t think it was helpful ;). I hope the tips I’ve read while writing my About page worked for me πŸ˜‰

    And most of all – Have fun blogging! That’s what’s important! Try connecting with other bloggers, bring their attention to you.

    Like

What's on your mind?

