The new Arthur

This book is yet another look at the Arthurian story. This time action takes us to modern day England and to a bunch of teenagers chosen to protect their world.

19197254The Golden Sword (The Camelot Inheritance #1) by Rosie Morgan

My rating:Β star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

When I’ve started reading the book I was surprised with the similarity of the very beginning of this story to Harry Potter. We’ve got the same gloomy street, mysterious figures, magical cat and some other observers. It felt like it might be just another try on writing HP-like book. At that point, I thought “well, it’s either going to be very similar but boring story or it’s going to surprise me andΒ take me to completely different world”.

Paderne castle by VityaR83
Paderne castle by VityaR83

It wasn’t a disappointment. I really liked how the story developed. I was a little bothered with Tamar and Nick to be constantly in the background. Watchers kept talking that all three heroes have a destiny together and yet we mostly got just Arthur’s story.

Everything that was happening around our heroes, all the gloom and doom hanging over the moors, it was still a mystery to them. It wasn’t one of those stories when hero suddenly finds out he’s all important and suddenly knows it all. Up till the very end author manages to keep some of the mystery. Characters have to work their way through some clues to put the story together, understand what’s actually happening.

The story was fast paced and kept the reader in suspense. From about half of the book, I simply couldn’t stop reading.

The author also put her own graphics at the beginning of each chapter and I have to say they look lovely and they fit perfectly into the story. Even if you can’t wait to know what happens next, you should pause for a moment at each chapter and check out the lovely drawings.

Right now I’ve got the second book in the series waiting to be read. I can’t promise I will do so soon, but I will surely let you know how much I liked it.

2 thoughts on “The new Arthur

What's on your mind?

