The demon inside me

Portia is a fast paced book full of various worlds, demons, dragons and magic with an enchanting heroine on the lead.

PortiaPortia (Angelbound Offspring #2) by Christina Bauer

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon US | Amazon UK

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

It seems that in times when Void threatens the worlds to collapse, even a peaceful, book loving princess must embark on a quest and try to save everyone. And who might be a perfect partner in her adventures? How about a handsome dragon emperor Tempest?

I felt this book was kind of chaotic. There were those strange moments when one chapter ends with supposed peace and quiet and the next started with a boom without a reason. Portia and Tempest were traveling randomly from place to place. I know they were supposed to be on this quest, but that also felt kind of sudden.

.:Golden Emperor:. by keelerleah
.:Golden Emperor:. by keelerleah

Actually I think I’m missing some information, maybe they were in previous books? I was completely lost in what was happening there. OK, there is this Void that’s supposed to be either some kind of a big ass monster or a place from which monsters come to other worlds. I didn’t really get that. Also, the worlds… so there are four worlds that are somehow joined together, but how are our heroes transporting between them? Are there some kind of portals? Or maybe you just wish yourself somewhere? I told you I was lost right?

At some point I thought I’m in an RPG game. Two players teamed up, took a quest without reading what the NPC wanted to tell them and now they only had an area on the map where they needed to go and the thing they needed to find. They were simply lacking all other information, some explanations, some extra descriptions of what’s happening to them and to the world surrounding them. They were teleported few times close to the places they needed to be, did their thing and moved on to the next part of the quest. And at the end they had a sparkly cutscene and a level up to one of them… [Sorry for the gaming reference. I wasn’t playing much lately and I think the withdrawal syndrome is catching on ;).]

What this book lacks in order, it makes up with the characters. Maybe Portia isn’t one of my favorite heroines out there, but I kind of liked her. She’s smart and skilled with magic, but apparently the curse makes her kind of useless with some spellcasting. Portia also loves books and loves to learn about magic, which makes her quite relatable for someone like me :). She’s attractive and knows it, the problem is everyone is afraid of her because she wears the marking of the void on her face and that’s supposed to mean she will change into a wild demon one day.

Of the Void by thienbao
Of the Void by thienbao

You can imagine how hard it is for a 19-year old to live with everyone running away from her. So when she meets Tempest, who doesn’t show any fear and actually wants to spend some time with her, she simply can’t resist him, even if he’s not her type.

I think you know where that’s going? As much as instant love goes this one was understandable. And from his side? Since he’s supposed to be this desired-by-all destroyer-of-hearts I imagine at first he simply wanted to make her his next catch. Maybe with time he actually started to feel something different. At least that’s what I thought for most of the book. Anyway, I’m OK with that romance, they actually make a nice couple. Plus he’s a totally hot dragon shifter!

This book is a fast read. When I started it, I couldn’t stop reading for at least 30% of the book, so even though it’s not a perfect read, I had a good time with it. I only wish I could read the first book before this one, maybe then I’d have some more information and everything would be clearer, so I could enjoy the story more.

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read any of the Angelbound books? I’d love to know if I should pick them up if the world created in these books as so fascinating.

5 thoughts on “The demon inside me

  1. Pingback: Necromancers, casters and curses – Magic of books

  2. I haven’t read this book yet but I did read Angelbound and I really liked it. I still need to read the other two books in the series and I’m planning to read them soon. Great Review BTW! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had one of Angelbound books on my to-read list for a while, that’s why I picked up this one. I didn’t like it as much as I’d like to, but as I wrote – I think it’s because I know too little about this world, I was missing some background, etc.
      and thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

