Top 5 Wednesday – Graphic Novels

imgresThis week’s Top 5 Wednesday is all bout graphic novels!

I admit, I haven’t read as many of them as I’d like and I liked the ones I’ve read a bit too little or a bit too much sometimes [yes, for the ones who haven’t noticed I’m rephrasing LoTR quote]. I did some last moment reading this week to have some actual choice in the graphic novels I’ve read. I do actually have some of them, mostly from a humble bundle, and I was waiting for a good moment to read them, but that actually means sitting at home in front of my PC and reading… There are so many things you can do on PC… So here’s my choice:

5

The Mocking Dead by Fred Van Lente and Max Dunbar

Yup, a zombie apocalypse story. It’s creepy and funny in some places. I had a good time reading it. And the ending… damn I wanted to kick the author. I really need to get the second part…

4

Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things by Ted Naifeh

That one is fun! A young girl moves with her parents to an old house that belongs to her great uncle Aloysius. Both house and her uncle seem to have lots of secrets… and strange creatures.

The story has kind of Coraline feel to it, spooky, yet fit for children.

3

The Guild by Felicia Day, Jim Rugg and Dan Jackson

Ah, the Guild… Has any of you watched this show? Well, go on! But you can also read through it. It’s fun both ways :).

2

George R.R. Martin’s Wild Cards: The Hard Call by Daniel Abraham, Eric Battle and George R.R. Martin

That one completely surprised me. I know Martin wrote many books except the famous Song of ice and fire series, but this was great! Just check it out 🙂

1

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples.

Loved by so many Saga. I completely understand why now. This was one of my last minute reads. I’ve got the 3-volume set and I’m 2/3 done right now. It’s a good story with some nice action, magic, various s-f worlds and aliens and love :). Yup, I loved it.

TV-Kitty-icon2

What are your Top 5 Graphic Novels?

Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned?

16 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Graphic Novels

  1. I haven’t read any graphic novels yet. I don’t know why but I have mixed feelings about them. Either I want to try them out but don’t know which one would be entertaining enough, or I shy away, strongly convinced I’ll never like it anyway and it’ll be money wasted. Sigh. Life decisions!

    Like

    1. Maybe your library has some so you could check them out? Or maybe you can go to some big bookstore and start reading one? Who knows you might find something cool. But it’s like with books – there are tons of them and the first one might not grab you attention and you might need to search for something else. Try choosing something from your favorite genre and with a drawing style you’ll like.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the advice 🙂 I’ll have to check my library – won’t waste money then. I don’t know why I didn’t think of that! :p (my local library isn’t so up-to-date with things like graphic novels but who knows, I might be surprised :p

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Pity. I Iike reading them from time to time. I wish I’ve read more DC and Marvel comics but I can’t have everything. I do enjoy a nice Manga once in a while too. Usually round Christmas when I spend more time at home.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicole Groshek

    Saga, yes!!! I have never been an avid comic reader, but my husband is. After months of him trying to convince me to read Saga, I finally did. Now I can’t believe I waited so long! I have all five volumes that are out right now and every single one is just amazing.

    My other favorite would have to be Wytches, which is another new one by Image comics. Can;t think of the writer off the top of my head.

    Like

What's on your mind?

