Top 5 Wednesday – banned books

imgresToday we’ve got a very rebellious Top 5 list – banned books.

Yes, I could write a lot of things about how bad and stupid it is to ban a book. People have their own minds and they know what to read and what not. Many people already wrote that, so let’s just move on to my list 😉

I will try to skip the books I’ve already mentioned on previous lists to keep it fresh, so LotR and Master and Margarita are off. Actually I’m going to put all the children and young adult books on this list.

5

Let’s start this list with something light, in some ways funny and very adventurous.

“No matter how dreary and gray our homes are, we people of flesh and blood would rather live there than in any other country, be it ever so beautiful. There is no place like home.”

4

OK, maybe the whole book isn’t really a children story, but the beginning is good enough for this list.

This is a great book, from the first part that made it become a children movie, till the very last that makes you question humanity.

“Undoubtedly, philosophers are in the right when they tell us that nothing is great or little otherwise than by comparison.”

3

Have you read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory? I sure hope so. Yes, it’s a bit crazy but it’s so much fun! Roald Dahl is very imaginative. No wonder he’s one of the most knows writers of children books. Plus he wrote this: So, please, oh please, we beg, we pray, go throw your TV set away, and in its place you can install, a lovely bookcase on the wall.

2

Ah yes, dear imaginative Alice. How could you ban a book with one little girl and a bunch of crazy characters in it? 😉

Maybe the reason was the Mad Hatter? Or the pipe smoking Caterpillar?

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”

1


Yup, the whole series :D. I could put just one of the books, but you’ll know I mean them all.

Harry Potter is a great series and I think I don’t need to tell you what it’s about ;). I’ve read it as a teenager, but I know I will re-read it in the future. These books are fun no matter how old you are.

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

No honorable mentions this time. You’ll need to wait till next week (maybe).

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you been a rebel and read any of the banned books?

 

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – banned books

  1. Pingback: 200 awesome followers! | Magic of books

    1. yeah, well… ask the idiots who did that 😛
      I found informations why these were banned a year or two ago. HP was due to witchery etc 😛
      don’t remember about OZ, but probably something equally stupid.

      Like

  2. Beautiful compilation of books that are dear to my heart. I did read them and am so glad I was able to. I remember finding out why they were banned. I understand, but will never agree. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some of the banning reasons are just too stupid to be real. I don’t understand the people who come up with them. Maybe they’re anti-reading and they try to ban whatever they can?

      Like

What's on your mind?

