Top 5 Wednesday – Top Books with Mental Health/Illness

imgresI’ve decided to join the Top 5 Wednesdays group on Goodreads! I only wish I did it earlier, there were so many great lists already. But I can alway use those topics for other posts :P.

When I saw today’s list, I though: “Why did I join now? what will I write? I have no books like that on my Read list!” But then my thinking got back and searched Goodreads lists for this topic. Oooh, how surprised I was to find so many books there. And so many I actually read. But since I should limit myself to 5, here’s my choice:

5

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins7260188 with Peeta’s brainwashing, he definitely goes crazy attacking everyone who used to be close to him.

I really liked the series, even though so many people I liked died. I cried many times during the whole trilogy (often in public as I mostly read on my way to and from work).

4

The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov117833 – a first high school read that I enjoyed a lot. There were some books I liked before, but this was one great and I had a great time reading it.

3

Sphere by Michael Crichton455373 – fantastic science-fiction read I’ve reached for because of a movie. After reading this, I have no intention of watching the movie again even though I liked it before.

The book is great it shows you what the characters feel, how they behave and what they think. The movie simply lacking.

2

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde489732 – yes, another classic on my list. I admit I haven’t read that many classic books yet 😦 shame on me, but I’m working on it. This book is very well written and the idea behind Dorian’s painting is fantastic! No wonder it inspired few movies, not even one worthy on the book, but still.

1

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien33 – so I’m cheating with the first place by adding w whole trilogy 🙂 deal with it! I love it and that’s it. And if you don’t know where to find mental illnesses here maybe you should read it again? It won’t be a waste of time :D.

 

Honorable mentions, because I couldn’t resist to add some more ;):

28186 8073282 9736930 28770 13496

TV-Kitty-icon2

What are yours Top 5 Books with Mental Health/Illness?

Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned?

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Top Books with Mental Health/Illness

  1. I love the Hunger Games series, and Before I Go To Sleep was SO good! I thought Silver Linings Playbook might have been on the list, if you’ve ever read it? The main character appears to have autism or something similar, though it’s never actually stated, he might just have social issues and anxiety! Such a good book though…

    Like

  2. Good list… I recently read a 3 book Frank Friendship series. The MC Frank has brain damage because *spoiler* and also a condition called synesthesia. He is also plain rude yet so simply innocent. Fascinating read of what everybody kind of thinks but dares not utter a word about! Also- funny! 🙂
    From your list I’ve read Hunger Games and Bulgakov… Enjoyed both… I’m still deciding whether to tackle Game of Thrones books… hmm…

    Like

    1. Game of Thrones is a great read, but a long one and it requires some getting used to with the perspective switching between oh, so many characters with each chapter.
      I might try Frank Friendship, it sounds interesting, but I don’t know if it’s my type of reads.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cool.. I guess I just have to give GoT a try and see how it goes.
        As for Friendship series- there’s a lot of twists and turns and unexpectedness. Kind of mystery and whodunit and who’s actually guilty/innocent. I guess, it’s not for the faint of heart either, cause some scenes can shock the bejeebus out of a reader 😀 but, I like the uniqueness. It’s refreshing.

        Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

