The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury on BBC

If you like dystopian/futuristic stories and never have read “The Martian Chronicles” man, are you missing out! Bradbury has a great way of writing. And his imagination! I know there at least some of you who will agree with me :).

Today is the day for everyone who haven’t yet read this great book or who wants to listen to its adaptation as a reminder of the stories.

The Martian Chronicles on BBC

A little blurb from BBC:

Derek Jacobi and Hayley Atwell lead an all-star cast in a thrilling new dramatisation, re-imagining Ray Bradbury’s timeless fable of doomed Martian colonisation.

When the first expedition to Mars mysteriously disappears, Earth sends a second to find out what happened. But the real mission is classified. And only Captain Wilder knows the truth.

It’s only a short dramatization, barely an hour-long, but it’s a good one (not as good as a book, but still worth it). If you haven’t clicked on the image yet, here’s the link: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0474xcb. You have 29 more days to listen to it for free.

Go on and have fun listening. And remember to tell me if you liked it πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury on BBC

    1. That’s not a movie, although there is an old TV show based on Bradbury’s stories. My BBC links lead to Radio dramatizations :). Perfect for work, travel, etc.
      And I will surely check your review.

      Like

    1. That is a tough question. I mostly listened to Audio book with his stories and I’m not so good in remembering titles I only heard, but from Martian shronicles I’d say there are 5 I particularly like, although without the other they mightn’t be that great:
      – The Earth Men
      – And the Moon Be Still as Bright
      – Night Meeting
      – The Martian
      – The Long Years

      From the other stories I like Kaleidoscope and the Painted man. I have to admit I might not be into horror, but when it’s Bradbury’s it’s perfect.

      Like

  1. The Martian Chronicles is one of my favorite books. I’ve read it maybe twenty times over the years. Every time I read it, I find something new and exciting that makes me admire the work of Ray Bradbury.

    Like

What's on your mind?

