Childhood memories

Today I’m going to tell you about one of my favorite children books. I used to listen to it as a child. One day, when I was wandering around a bookstore, I’ve noticed this book staring at me. All I have is a tape recording, and we all know how popular that is now. Plus the book was specially illustrated and a hard cover version… I just had to buy it.

Little Witch The Little Witch by Otfried Preußler

My rating: 1437331131_Star-Full1437331131_Star-Full1437331131_Star-Full1437331131_Star-Full1437331131_Star-Full

You can find this book on Goodreads and Amazon.

Book tells us a story of a little witch, well little for witch’s standard as she’s 127 years old. She already wishes to be all grown up, because then she’d be able to go to dance with all the grown up witches during Walpurgis Night. When she’s trying to sneak up to the dance, her scary aunt catches her. Aunt gives our little witch a choice – the girl will have one year to learn how to be a good witch.

Book describes little witch’s adventures while learning to use magic. All the time she’s trying to do good deeds. What she doesn’t know is that she’s being watched by her aunt. In a years’ time they will have a lot to talk about.

Little witch
One of pictures in the book

Only when I read the book, after all those years, I found out that the stories included on tape were incomplete. I have to admit, I was enjoying this read just as much as I used to when I was a child :).

I think this story is a great for children. Using various situations it shows how people should or shouldn’t behave, what’s good and what’s not so much. All the time it’s enjoyable and it has surprising ending.

2 thoughts on “Childhood memories

  1. Erin

    Thanks for sharing this! I have a special love for children’s literature and I enjoy seeing what others liked to read in their childhood. I loved books about witches when I was little, but I think I may have missed this one back then.

    Like

    1. Maybe this one wasn’t available in your country? Author’s from Germany and it seems this book was translated to Polish, so I was one of the lucky ones who got it 😀

      Like

What's on your mind?

