With dragons and love

I was wondering what should my first review be about. Should it be a book I loved, or maybe my latest read, or maybe something that annoyed me?

It’s not going to be either. I’ve decided to choose something I’ve read just a few weeks ago, so it’s still fresh in my memory. It wasn’t a great read, but it was satisfying enough to share with others. A short story I found on Amazon (I do tend to add a lot of these to my library, yet only some of them I actually read).

Sergeant at Arms (Winged Beasts Book 0) Sergeant at Arms (Winged Beasts Book 0) by Crystal Dawn

My rating: 1437331131_Star-Full1437331131_Star-Full1437331131_Star-Full1437331089_Star-Empty1437331089_Star-Empty

You can find the book on Goodreads and Amazon

This book is a prelude to a new series by Crystal Dawn. There are no new books in this series yet, but Author has few promising-looking series on her account already. Considering their Goodreads rating, they might be quite good too.

Story’s called “Sergeant at arms” and it’s about a woman in trouble and a dragon in need. It’s a romance, a genre I’m not that comfortable with, but it has fantasy and science fiction elements, and these are well placed in my comfort zone.

Everything starts on a different planet, inhabited by dragon shifters. It would be all wonderful for them if not the fact they’re all males. The only way for them to get children is to find females on another planets and bond with them. Real problems start when the planet, from which all the women came till now, it destroyed by a natural disaster. Now they have to start looking for new planet, new source of women, who will be willing to join them. It seems the next closest planet, with a potential to help them, is Earth.

For now story seems to have a potential right? Now comes the time to meet our heroine. A woman on the run. She needs to escape from her not-so-good ex, who will rather kill her, then let her go. Davy decides to change her appearance, get some money and start a new life.

On the other side we’ve got Jarel –Β  a hot alien, who can change into a dragon. He came to Earth as a part of team intended to find possible women. If their mission works, Earth might become their constant dating ground.

Their first meeting happens during dinner. Accidental looks across tables, first contact, promise of next meeting…

That’s the moment when I should really stop telling you about the story. Did I mentioned I’m not much into romance? Well, this one wasn’t bad ;). I actually did enjoy reading it. What bothered me was the speed of their relationship rocketing toward bed. I know, love at first sight, etc, but there was something missing here. Then again it was just a short story, a prelude to something bigger. For now there’s no continuation, but I do hope there will be, because it might be really interesting. After all it has dragon shifters! Have you ever dreamt of changing into a dragon? I know I have. Especially after reading Witcher books and finding my second favorite character – Villentretenmerth (I did have to google the name…). And then there’s this:

SmaugLock Cumbersmaug Costume Design Smaug

Aaaand I almost forgot what I was writing about… Wait a moment till I get my head out of the clouds.

Ok… Story was interesting enough to give it a 3 star rating. If you’re into sf/fantasy romances this one might just hit your spot. I’m actually quite curious what might happen next.

Have fun reading the book and leave a comment to tell me whether you liked it.

See you next time πŸ™‚

What's on your mind?

